50088

That’s right folks, I just hit my camp nanowrimo goal. The story is still unfinished, I suspect it may remain so for a long while as I’ve decided that I really don’t like it. It has been a real hard slog to churn out enthusiasm to keep going, the story doesn’t inspire and excite me, and to be honest, it never really did.

As I’ve said before, I wrote this novel as a way to push myself just to write something, to develop a plot arc from start to finish, set word count goals and work towards them. I’ve done those things and I’m happy with that. I just don’t see the point in continuing to force myself to keep writing something that I don’t enjoy. I have so many other ideas that I’m fired up about, I spent an hour and half this morning writing a bunch of new stuff for a sci-fi short story I started a little while back and I’d just rather put my energy and enthusiasm into those things.

I’ve decided to spend the next few months (also hopefully including next camp) writing short stories of around 5-7.5k each, perhaps create my own little anthology. I’m then going to work on editing and polishing those stories and perhaps look at getting them published, recording podcast versions of them for shows like escape pod, podcastle, rompod and countless others.

I’ve got the writing bug back and I want to nurture it.

I hope to start back on publishing a piece of flash fiction on Thursday’s plus a few other smaller wordcount challenges (like Unusual Stretches in under 100 words) and anything else I work on and feel proud enough of to publish.

Hope others are reaching their goals this month too.

4 thoughts on “50088

  1. Congratulations on reaching your goal! A lot of us NaNo-ers end up with stories we can’t really stand to look at by the time we finish–if we’ve managed to finish writing at all. I’m glad that you’ve got the energy to write, even if its not to work on this same story.

    Keep at it! ❤

  2. I did the same thing with my November NaNo project. I abandoned it completely, although I may eventually go back and rework it. I still like the basic idea, but there are several parts of the concept that will NOT work. Oh well. C’est la vie!

Leave a Reply

