To edit or not to edit

targetI know that technically I’m supposed to just let the words flow from my brain to keyboard, get it all out there and let it take me where it wants to go (of course whilst following me very well laid out plot plan, chapter outlines and so forth). But I can’t. It’s not that I’m going back and editing for the fun of things but because whilst typing a part of one chapter, it suddenly dawns on me that I need to link that part of the story a little further back and so I return to an earlier chapter and add in a sentence here, a few hundred words there. Other times I get to the next chapter page. The bold, centred heading glaring remorselessly at me, daring me to write something and I can’t. It’s not exactly that I’ve got writers block, it’s more that I left a previous chapter partially incomplete, with little highlighted notes telling me what I want to put there, or, it’s ecause I’m not overly happy with what I have written and I simply can’t get the horrible, painful idiocy of that previous chapter out of my head. I need to go back and cauterise the wound, delete a word or 500, rework the chapter until I’m comfortable with it.

Whatever I’m doing, it doesn’t seem to be slowing me down and I’m successfully managing to exceed my daily word count goals whilst being a mum, a wife, a friend and a community member. Which reminds me, I should also be a good daughter and call my mum 😉

 

Total Words Written: 17,776

Words Remaining: 32,224

Current Day: 5

Days Remaining: 26

At This Rate You Will Finish On: April 15, 2013

3 thoughts on “To edit or not to edit

  1. Pingback: Resist the urge | My Creative Side

Leave a Reply

